Past EDI Winners

Spring 2019 EDI Winners

EDI Winner 1.PNG

L-R: Park Watson, Michele Grow, Charlotte Nunez-Wolff, Nancy Kelly,
Dean Urban, Brandon Toney, Erika Lovelace, Donna Sell

The Nicholas School Diversity & Inclusion Actionators

The Nicholas School Diversity & Inclusion Actionators chose the name to focus on action instead of simply “checking off the boxes of diversity.” The Actionators wanted to, wholeheartedly and holistically, embrace the concept that everyone belongs and everyone is welcome. At the Nicholas School they believe that in order to solve the world’s environmental challenges, it must be part of our mission to create a safe and inclusive environment where everyone is valued.

EDI Winner 2.PNG

Dr. Daniel Lew

For nearly 10 years, Dr. Daniel Lew has demonstrated his deep commitment to increasing diversity in the biomedical sciences at Duke by way of thoughtful, nuanced, and bold leadership, as well as through a constant willingness to self-examine and continually work to make himself into the best mentor and advocate of underrepresented students and faculty that he can be. He has made a personal and academic commitment as a lifelong student of effective practices of diversity and inclusion in graduate education.


Spring 2018 EDI Winners

Spring 18 EDI 1.jpg


Dr. Steven Patierno, Duke Cancer Institute

Dr. Steve Patierno is committed to devoting his time and effort to improving the lives and health of people of all populations. He has made profound contributions to address equity, diversity and inclusion, while helping to eliminate health disparities across the continuum of outreach, workforce recruitment and development, translational research, and clinical care and research.


Duke Child and Adolescent Gender Care Team

From left to right: Dr. Jon Routh, Dr. Deanna Adkins, Kristen Russell,
and Dr. Beverly Gray


Duke Child and Adolescent Gender Care Team, Children’s Health Center

Dr. Deanna Adkins, a pediatric endocrinologist on the faculty of Duke’s Department of Pediatrics, has successfully established the Duke Child and Adolescent Gender Care out of the idea to provide a safe place where children and teens who are struggling with the complexities of growing up with various sex and gender related issues could receive well-rounded medical care. To address the complex needs of transgender and gender-expansive children, Dr. Adkins recruited Dr. Jon Routh, a pediatric urologist with expertise in the care of children with disorders of sexual development, Kristen Russell, a clinical pediatric social worker committed to the care of lesbian, bisexual and transgender teenagers, and Dr. Beverly Gray, a gynecologist who specializes in reconstructive surgery. The Duke Child and Adolescent Gender Care team has been extraordinarily successful in attracting referrals throughout North Carolina and the Southeast. It has been featured in local, regional, and national publications, as well as appearing on national television programs including CBS and ABC news programs. The team’s commitment and leadership to equity, diversity and inclusion has been extraordinary.


Sanford School of Public Policy

From left to right: Professors Kate Whetten, Quinton Smith, and Professor Deondra Rose


Committee on Diversity and Inclusion, Sanford School of Public Policy

The Sanford School of Public Policy Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (CDI) has successfully worked together as a singular voice and has demonstrated leadership and an exceptional commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion. Dean Kelly Brownell established the CDI in 2015 as a way to further the School’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. Professors Kate Whetten, Deondra Rose, and Jay Pearson lead the committee. “We strive to make sure that diversity and inclusion are more than mere buzzwords and mandates. We want everyone who is part of the Sanford community -- whether student, staff or faculty -- to know that this is a place that acknowledges, values and celebrates its rich mélange of identities,” states Quinton Smith, who organizes and facilitates the committee’s activities. The statement succinctly summarizes the impact the CDI has had on the Sanford community.


Spring 2017 EDI Winners

Rosa Solorzano


Rosa Solorzano, MD, MPH

Dr. Rosa Solorzano is a faculty member at the Duke University School of Nursing (DUSON) and the Global Health Institute, as well as a faculty consultant and educator at the School of Medicine. Dr. Solorzano provides opportunities for students to acquire foundational Spanish language skills, as well as to broaden their ability to provide culturally competent care to a diverse patient population, with emphasis on the Latinx community. She also serves as coordinator of Exploring Medicine in Other Cultures, an exemplary interdisciplinary program that gives faculty, students, and staff from medical, nursing, and physical therapy programs an opportunity to discover the diverse framework of medical care in other cultures through several programs, including a 10-day medical outreach.

Duke Regional Hospital Diversity Leadership Team

Left to right: Margie Muir, Denise Guerrier, Lisa Brown Cole, and Katie Galbraith


Duke Regional Hospital Diversity (DRH) Leadership Team

The Duke Regional Hospital Diversity Leadership Team has been actively involved in diversity efforts in the hospital and community including, working with the LGBTQ community on health care services, contributing to the implementation of new health care policy for the care of transgender patients, and promoting and providing information to frontline staff on gender affirming surgery performed at DRH. The team’s tireless efforts have resulted in DRH receiving the Healthcare Equality Index Award, presented by the Human Rights Commission for the fourth straight year. The team has also been awarded the National Bold Award for their work with Project Search, which supports public school programs for youth with disabilities.

Spring 2014 EDI Winners

Four recipients received the Spring 2014 EDI Award: Abdullah Antepli, chief representative of Muslim Affairs; Kenyon Railey, MD, instructor at Duke Physician Assistant Program; the Duke International Nurses group; and the team at the Academic Resource Center.

Spring 2013 EDI Winners

The Duke Raleigh Hospital Diversity Leadership Team (DLT) and all of its members received the Spring 2013 EDI award. The team was led by Chair Maria Tucker of the Diabetes Center and Vice Chair Hai Ly Burk of Case Management. In his nomination, Dr. Rick Gannotta, the president of the hospital, stated that diversity is one of the core values at Duke Raleigh Hospital, and "this team is committed to upholding this value. The DLT has established an interactive and creative community by thinking "outside of the box" to create a culture of diversity and inclusion not only with their staff, patients, and visitors, but throughout the Triangle."

Fall 2012 EDI Winners

Two recipients received the EDI award in 2012: A group from the Pratt School of Engineering leadership team — Martha Absher, Constance Simmons, Lupita Temiquel-McMillian, and Marnie Rhoads, and Gerald J. Harrison, Associate Athletic Director/HR of the Department of Athletics.

Spring 2012 EDI Winners

The winners of the Spring 2012 award were Dr. Paula McClain, Dr. Kerry Haynie, and the staff of the Center for the Study of Race, Ethnicity, and Gender in the Social Sciences (REGSS).